Egyptian Red Lentil Soup.

Dear attractive guy running to catch the train,

I just wanted to let you know that if you miss the train, it’s going to be ok. Even if it is the last train that is running today, it’ll still be ok. You wanna know why?

Cause I make awesome soup.

If you’re sweet, and possibly wink at me, then I’ll offer to take you in out of the cold and feed you some yummy soup. That way, you won’t have to stand out in the rain until the next train comes. It’ll be great. We’ll eat soup, talk, laugh, and possibly watch “That Thing You Do” afterwards (because, that’s one of my favorite movies, and inevitably, one of yours too). It’ll be great-I pinky swear.

Oh, you caught your train? No worries. Maybe another time.

Sincerely,
Anna

P.S. I love love love your charcoal gray pea coat.

Anyway, I still make awesome soup, even if I’m eating it alone. That may be because this soup is so easy to make! Plus, it’s vegan! Yay.

The recipe I have feeds 20 people (I live in community, remember?), so I’ll reduce it a bit for you.

Egyptian Red Lentil Soup
serves 5-6 people

4 cups vegetable broth or water
1 cup dried red lentils
1 1/2 cup chopped onions
1 3/4 chopped potatoes
8 garlic cloves, peeled and left whole
3 teaspoons olive oil
1 Tablespoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon turmeric
1-1 1/2 teaspoon salt (adjust to taste)
2/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
4-5 Tablespoons lemon juice
salt and pepper

1. Add the first 5 ingredients to a large pot; cover and bring to a boil.
2. Lower the heat and simmer 15 minutes, or until the lentils and veggies are tender.
3. Take pot form stove burner and set aside.
4. Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, add the oil; warm over low heat until the oil is hot but not smoking.
5. Add in the cumin, turmeric, and salt; cook and stir constantly for 2-3 minutes, or until the cumin has released its fragrance (br careful not to scorch the spices).
6. Set spice mixture aside for 1 minute to cool.
7. Stir spice mixture into the lentil mixture; add cilantro, stir to combine.
8. You can puree the soup, in batches in a blender OR you can use an immersion blender and blend to desired texture (I like to leave it a little chunky).
9. Add in lemon juice; stir to combine.
10. Rewarm soup in soup pot; season if needed with salt/pepper.

Enjoy with some bread (I found a killer savory scone recipe that I’m going to have to try soon with this) and a spinach salad, or simply on its own; it’s delish.

Good luck.

And maybe next time, train guy.

Leave a Reply

