Hollandaise Sauce.

So, I have a slight confession to make: I am not a huge fan of butter.Don’t get the ropes for a lynching just yet-let me finish.

When I was a little girl, I must have loved butter, because apparently my mother would catch me getting into the fridge and swipe a bite a butter straight from the stick (don’t judge-I also liked to get into the salt. What a strange kid . . . ). After that little phase, I just never liked a lot of buttery things. I don’t have anything against butter, but I wouldn’t put it on my toast, or add it to anything unnecessarily.

Then I watched “Julie & Julia.” Julia Child (well, Meryl Streep), Amy Adams, France, and an impressive amount of gorgeous French food? Sign me up. The food is gorgeous, the story is inspiring (and true, might I add), and the actors do such a great job of portraying a story about finding your passion, the struggles in such an adventure, and the people in your life that help you through those deserts (not desserts-stick with me people). And did I mention the food is beautiful? Seriously, it makes you want to pause every scene and make just what is shown on the screen. Watch it- you won’t be sorry.

Anyway, one recipe she makes in the movie is artichokes with hollandaise sauce. I had never had hollandaise at this point, and I didn’t really know what it was until I looked it up-egg yolks, lemon juice, and an ungodly amount of butter. In my mind, I’m thinking, “Butter sauce-yuck.” But I do love me some artichokes, so I thought what the heck. I made this for a date night for my mom and I (mother-daughter dates=marvelous). And to my surprise, it was super easy to make! So we boiled the artichokes just like Betty Crocker told us to, whipped up some hollandaise, and set up a little dinner table in the living room in front of the fireplace and the television, and prepared to watch “Anne of Green Gables” and have our lives changed by our meal.

I don’t know if I even have to say this, but Gilbert Blythe has a part of my heart. Just sayin.’

And I am fairly certain that hollandaise sauce has another part of my heart. It’s a new love, and we are crazy about one another.

Since that venture, I have had hollandaise on the brain, and finally, this morning I made some to go on my eggs. I decided to try a different method, one that was suggested by Ree over at Pioneer Woman (love her blog!), which involved a blender. And as much as it pains me to say this, it so did not work out for me. I ended up with this weird, buttery, bland mess, which I then moved to the stovetop in a feeble attempt to save, but to no avail. I decided to use that for another endeavor and start again, this time, using the tried and true Betty Crocker recipe. All I can say is, Betty delivered. So succulent, delicious . . . I’m running out of food adjectives, mostly because none of them are up to par with how wonderful this tastes.


Picture

Picture

Picture

This adventure was brought to you by:Anthony’s Coffee, based in Paia, Hawaii. Thanks.
Picture

By the way, that’s my mom on the right, my sister Jil in the middle, and me on the left. I love them.
And I’ve kept you too long. By now, you should be skipping down to the bottom of the entry, thinking, “Where is the recipe for this stuff?!” Ok people, cool your jets. It’s right here.Hollandaise Sauce
Serves 2-4 people.

3 large egg yolks

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

1/2 cup firm butter

1. In 1 1/2-quart saucepan, vigorously stir egg yolks and lemon juice with wire whisk. Add 1/4 cup of the butter. Heat over very low heat, stirring constantly with wire whisk, until butter is melted.

2. Add remaining 1/4 cup butter. Continue stirring vigorously until butter is melted and sauce is thickened. (Be sure butter melts slowly so eggs have time to cook and thicken sauce without curdling.) If the sauce curdles (mixture begins to separate), add about 1 tablespoon boiling water and beat vigorously with wire whisk or hand beater until it’s smooth.

3. Serve immediately. Store covered in refrigerator. To serve refrigerated sauce, reheat over very low heat and stir in a small amount of water.

So, needless to say, butter and I are living happily ever after.

Leave a Reply

