Grilled Apple, Caramelized Onion, and Mascarpone Sandwich.

Sometime, you just have to eat cookie dough. It has to be done.

No, no-not whilst you are making cookies. I mean, that usually happens, it’s inevitable. But I’m talking about making a bowl of chocolate chip cinnamon cookie dough, grabbing a few spoons, and taking it up to the lounge with the crew and eating it, all while we are chatting, website updating, and reading.

Yes, we are that cool.

That doesn’t have anything to do with what I am about to tell you about though-I just wanted to let you know that it happens, and if you do the same, you’re not alone. You’re just part of the cool crowd. Be proud.

This evening, as I raided my fridge for some dinner, I thought back on a post I saw a few days ago from Emma on From Scratch. She made fantastic looking Grilled Apple and Gruyere Sandwiches, and I had a hankering for one. Requirements? Gruyere and a granny smith apple, both of which I did not have. So I improvised. After taking inventory, we can up with 3 small white onions, mascarpone cheese, gala apples, brie, apricot jam, and some seedy bread. So that is precisely what we had!

Grilled Apple, Caramelized Onion, and Mascarpone Sandwich
serves 2 (cause ya know, it’s Valentine’s Day-you can’t eat it alone)

4 slices bread (I used wheat, seeded bread, but whatever you prefer!)
Bit o’ butter
3 small white onions, sliced
1 Tbsp. brown sugar
1 gala apple
4-6 Tbsp. Mascarpone cheese (depending on how thickly you want to spread it)
Apricot jam, for spreading
salt and pepper, to taste

In a small skillet, heat about 1 1/2 tsp. butter until melted, then toss in the onions and brown sugar (and a pinch of salt and pepper, if you desire). Saute the onions until tender; place in small bowl and set aside. Spread a bit of butter on each slice of bread. On the opposite side of the bread, spread the mascarpone cheese. Layer the apples on the mascarpone cheese, then spoon heaping spoonfuls of the onions onto the apples (you don’t have to use all the onions-the amount will depend on how much you like onions-I love them). Place the other slice of bread on the onions, and set the sandwich into the same skillet you used for the onions. Grill on medium/ high heat for a few minutes each side (keep an eye on it). When it is done, you can spread a bit of apricot jam on the top piece of bread if you wish. I did with half of mine, but both were wonderful.

I have a friend in LA who loves sandwiches, and the whole time I was making this, I was thinking of him. This might blow his mind. I might just send him this recipe right now. See ya.

Oh, and Happy Valentine’s Day. ❤

Leave a Reply

