Chocolate Coconut Milk Ice Cream.

So, let me tell you a story . . . 

I love ice cream. It’s in my blood. My whole family adores ice cream. While growing up, there was this understanding that we would almost always have ice cream in the freezer. Double Fudge Brownie, Rocky Road, Mocha Almond Fudge, or classic Chocolate (we also like chocolate-can ya tell?), it was there, ready to be eaten while we would have family time or watch a movie.

There was even an instance when my grandmother couldn’t get a hold of my uncle, so she called my dad and said, ” Have you seen him? I can’t find him, but there was a half gallon of ice cream in my freezer, and now it’s gone, so I know he had to have been here . . .” Ya, it’s intense. 

When I lived in Maui a few years ago, I fell in love with Luna & Larry’s Coconut Bliss ice cream. It is made from coconut milk, so it is dairy and soy free, which is awesome! And you felt good after you ate it, not like you ate a huge dessert and must now be rolled away. And, as a borderline lactard, no tummy ache for me. Hooray! 

Picture

 
Last week, I was craving Luna & Larry’s, but for the life of my couldn’t find it in any store. I even emailed the company and asked them if they had any distributers in the UK (desperate, or loyal customer? You decide). They emailed the next day-no distributers in the UK, but they were working on it. Grr. So, as I do, I decided to make some. I looked up the recipe, and was amazing that it was so simple! Only four ingredients standing between me and a bowl of creamy, delicious, smooth chocolate? Um, I’m on it. 

What? I know it’s February. Not exactly summertime when ice cream cravings are appropriate, but ya know . . . whatever. 

Maybe it’s because the sun had been out the past couple days. It makes it feel like spring, or summer, at least not the dead of winter. 

Picture

 
The only sweetener I used was honey, which is better for you, and far prettier than sugar. 
Picture

 
Also, when you make your own ice cream, you can adjust how much chocolate you add. Hallelujah and amen. 
Picture

 
Creamy, soft-serve goodness. 
Picture

 
Um, yum. Get in my belly. 
Chocolate Coconut Milk Ice Cream

3 cups of unsweetened coconut milk (about two cans)
2/3 cup of cocoa powder (or more if you so choose)
5 Tbsp. honey (or you can use agave syrup, date syrup, whatever sweetener you wish)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Whisk cocoa powder in a small amount of coconut milk, until smooth. Then add the rest of the ingredients and whisk until well combined. Or dump all ingredients together and blend with a stick blender. Make according to your machines instructions.

Source: adapted from The Nourishing Gourmet

Yes, it is that simple. So crank up your heaters or put another log on the fire so your house feels toasty like summertime, and eat some ice cream. Done. 

Leave a Reply

