Dippy Eggs & Soldiers, & a Full Heart. dippy

Full heart and no words.That’s what I feel like sometimes; like, right now. Mulling over life, time, community, people, the world, injustice, my role, love, relationships, future, beauty, creation, calling, contentment, and where I fit in in this mess. It’s a beautiful mess, but a mess nonetheless. Do you know what I am referring to? I hope you do. That means I’m not the only crazy. You’re crazy too-thanks.

Something I do want to tell you about though is breakfast. I don’t know if I can rightly express to you my love for soft boiled eggs.

Picture

It’s like creamy sauce inside a natural warm casing . . . ok, honestly, I can’t think of any great food adjectives for an egg at the moment. But fact-soft boiled eggs will steal your heart.Kiss My Spatula posted this, and I about died. It’s quite possible I found this when I was in bed, and I jumped out of bed to make it for breakfast.

Picture

And it’s so pretty, don’t you agree??? Vibrant yellow yolk, toasty, buttery bread, perfect for just about any and every day.I suggest greeting the morning with this little number, a blueberry apple spinach smoothie, some good coffee, and a journal. Ya know, to clear out that head of yours.

Dippy Eggs and Soldiers

one farm fresh, organic egg
one slice toast (i prefer seedy wheat toast)
small bowl cold water
good butter
fine sea salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Place egg in small saucepan, and fill with water to about an inch over the egg. Bring to a boil. Once boiled, turn off heat and cover for 3 minutes. With one minute left, toast your bread. When the 3 minutes is up, carefully place the egg in the bowl of cold water to keep it form cooking. Butter toast and cut into soldiers (about 2 cm thick). Peel the egg, and place egg in egg cup (or if you don’t have an egg cup, improvise and use a clean candleholder-it totally works). Sprinkle with sea salt and pepper to your liking. Serve and start dipping.

Source: adapted from Kiss My Spatula

Leave a Reply

