Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Candied Nuts.

This week I gave my room a good spring cleaning. I moved around my furniture, cleaned out my drawers, and even scrubbed my window molding. Ya, I know. You’re impressed.Also, before I had a big space under my semi-loft bed where, in my perfect world, is a little nook where I can read and craft. In reality? It’s a catch all for laundry and whatever else I don’t feel like putting away in it’s proper place. And as a habitual chair clothes thrower (don’t judge-you know you do it too), this was simply setting myself up for another something to pile up and put off cleaning. So no more of that nonsense! I now have an extra dresser with a book drawer, craft drawer, etc.

I feel like a grown up.

What else makes me feel grown up? Eating brussels sprouts and liking them/loving them.

I confess: I had never had brussels sprouts before. All I heard was that they were gross, so I believed everyone. Silly move on my part.

They’re simply delightful.

Picture

Picture

I altered this recipe quite a bit, seeing as I didn’t have most of the ingredients. But most genius things are experiments, right? Well, that’s what I tell myself at least.Dude, ya. So good.

Caramelized Brussels Sprouts  with Candied Nuts
serves one

1 Tbsp. brown sugar1-2 pats butter
1 handful almonds, roughly chopped
1 small bowl brussels sprouts leaves
sea salt and cracked pepper, to taste

In a small frying pan, melt 1 pat of butter over medium to high heat; then add the sugar and the almonds. Stir constantly so the sugar won’t burn! Once the sugar has dissolved and the almonds are candied, remove them from the heat and pour them onto a small plate (so they don’t cool and dry in a clump). Add the other pat of butter, and melt it down. Add the brussels sprout leaves, and season to taste. Saute for a few minutes over medium heat, stirring occasionally. They should be warmed and a bit tender, but still hold their shape and have a bit of crunch. Once cooked, remove from heat and place in small bowl; top with candied nuts.

Source: adapted from Kiss My Spatula

Music: “Failure,” Laura Marling, the Alas I Cannot Swim album

Leave a Reply

