Bell Pepper Egg-in-a-Hole.

Picture

Remember when you were little and your mom would fix you egg in a hole for breakfast? Well, I do still love me some egg in a hole, but now that my taste buds have grown up a little bit, I always like putting veggies in my eggs. Scrambled eggs with spinach, tomatoes, avocado, olives, and feta cheese (not a vegetable, but still yummy!) is one of my top five favorite meals. So, marrying these two ideas makes me a very happy camper!My breakfast this morning was Bell Pepper Egg-in-a-hole, courtesy of Tracy from Shutterbean. It was one of the most colorful meals I’ve ever made, and so delicious!

Picture

Picture

Picture

I decided to make two, one fried egg style, and one scrambled egg in a hole, with all the beautiful ingredients you see above.
Picture

Heat a bit of olive oil in a small skillet, and saute the slice of bell pepper for a couple/few minutes, equal time on both sides.
Picture

Pour the scrambled mixture into the pepper and let cook on medium heat for a couple/few minutes, then flip. Some will leak out, it’s ok.
Picture

Picture

Sprinkle a bit of feta on that egg, along with a bit of sea salt and cracked pepper. By the way, my chickens laid these eggs. Good job girls.
Picture

The yummy buddies, side by side.
Picture

Bell Pepper Egg-in-a-hole2 slices of bell pepper (my favorite is red)
2 eggs (farm fresh is best)
2 tsp olive oil
salt and pepper, to taste
feta cheese, crumbled
green onion, chopped
small handful spinach, chopped
pinch of garlic powder and basil

Heat 2 teaspoons olive oil in a small frying pan, then add the slices of bell pepper. Cook for 1-2 minutes each side, then add the egg or egg mixture. If you are making a scrambled egg in a hole, mix up the egg, green onion, spinach, garlic powder, basil, salt, and pepper in a small bowl. Really, you can use whatever spices and vegetables you so desire! These are just my favorites.

After the egg/egg mixture cooks for a couple/few minutes, flip over and let cook another couple minutes. You will loose a bit of egg, but don’t worry about it (well, I did, but you’re probably a pro flipper-go you!). When done, place on plate and enjoy. With fruit, with coffee, with toast, with a book, with a TV show, with a windowsill and some rain, with Words with Friends, with . . . whatever, really. I enjoyed mine with an episode of “Dollhouse.”

Source: adapted from Shutterbean

Leave a Reply

