Double Chocolate Chip Cookies . . . with Marshmallow Cream.

Picture

Hello there, pretty little cookies. You are so delightful, just chillin’ on your homey little plate. Light yet chewy, intensely chocolatey but not too rich, you are pretty dang near perfect.

What’s that dollop of something hanging out on the plate? You really want to know? Marshmallow cream. Yes, I put a dollop of marshmallow cream on these perfect cookies.

Also, I just said “dollop” twice. The word makes me feel cute, like “dollop of daisy,” which makes me think I should be wearing daisy duke jean shorts, a tied-up flannel shirt, and a pair of killer cowgirl boots (which I have been desiring lately . . . hm). Anyway . . .

Picture

See that marshmallow creme? It was leftover from these insane cupcakes I made last week. However, this gooey wonder had a mind of its own and wanted to spread its love all over the plate. So we refrained from dolloping and proceeded to dip the cookies on bowls of marshmallow creme. What? Yes. Cookies dipped in marshmallow creme. Can’t find milk to dip your cookie in? Just use marshmallow creme. It makes sense.
Picture

That sweet little bowl you see in the distance has the creme in it. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not doggin’ milk. I love me some cookies and milk, but sometimes you need a lil’ somethin’ different, ya know? You know.

I’ve written about these in an earlier post, but then they were giant, and now they are fairly wee. So you can have more.

Today I spent a good amount of my afternoon training one of my friends how to do the food ordering for our community of 25 people, cause I am leaving in 1.5 months.

Did I tell you that? I’m moving back to the states. It’s really . . . weird. I’m still here, but not involved in everything, because I am phasing out. I am training people on the jobs and roles I have in the community. I am still very much part of this community, so it’s hard to think about leaving. I suppose it’s good, to start preparing myself emotionally so I don’t get on the plane and start thinking, “What the . . . ?!” Do you know what I mean?

I am excited about going, I really am. I haven’t been around my family for more than just vacation in three years, and I would love to live life alongside them again.

Picture

They’re good people.

Oh, and here’s that recipe. Thanks for listening-means a lot. Kinda love you guys. 🙂

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup (2 sticks) cold, unsalted butter, cubed
1¼ cup sugar
2 large eggs
½ cup dark cocoa powder
2¼ cups all-purpose flour
¼ tsp. coarse salt
1 tsp. baking powder
2½ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350˚ F.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats.  In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the butter and sugar.  Beat together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, 2-3 minutes.  Blend in the eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl as needed.  Mix in the cocoa powder until well blended.  Add the flour, salt and baking powder to the bowl and mix on low speed just until incorporated.  Fold in the chocolate chips with a spatula.  Transfer the dough to a work surface and knead briefly by hand to be sure the ingredients are well combined.

Drop tablespoon-sized balls/drops/chunks of dough onto a prepared baking sheet a few inches apart.  Bake 8-10 minutes.  Let cool on the baking sheets 5-10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Listening to: Pokey LaFarge and Local Natives (both NPR music tiny desk concerts)

Source: adapted from Annie’s Eats, adapted from My Baking Addiction, who adapted it from Parsley, Sage, Desserts and Line Drives, inspired by Levain Bakery

Leave a Reply

