Green Lentil & Ginger Soup.

Dear Mister Future,Just a few things, giving you a heads up, and all that . . .

I like carrying my own bags, provided they aren’t 50 kilos. I have two God-given arms to carry such bags.

There are times that I will need to go for a run or a drive at some obscure hour, cause I need to think and process; I need space to do that.

Let me mess up sometimes. It helps me grow and remember things.

I like having a routine. I don’t mind so much if it gets changed around, but I like having my schedule sorted.

Even though this may sound like I am a sorted grown- up, I’m not. Don’t be fooled.

Picture

I need you.I need to know that you will be there for me when I cut myself, have to go to urgent care, and to hold my hand when I sillily cry when they give me a shot.

I need you to play with me. I’m a lady, but I’m tough.

I need to talk with you to be ok with the fact that sometimes my words don’t work when I process out loud.

I need you to laugh at my dumb humor, cause sometimes I’m funny. I think.

Picture

I need to make you soup. It may not be your everyday chicken noodle. It may be green lentil and ginger . . .In fact, it is definitely green lentil and ginger. And it’s yummy. Trust.

Get the stuff together, chop some carrots, and time to adore your pretty feet.Well, I’ll adore my feet. If you are a mister reading this, take time to adore your lady’s pretty feet. It’ll make her blush.

Carrots improve your eyesight. Lentils are rich in protein. You are doing your body and your taste buds a favor.
Simple. Warm. A bit of spice, but instead of being followed by a kick, it follows you with a warmth that flows through your blood and into your bones, warming your soul. I served with with quinoa, making this meal doubly protein-filled. Topped with parmesan, this is the perfect soup. Hearty, yet light.So, mister, let me make this soup for you. You’ll love it, and I love to make you smile.

Oh, and thanks for sitting on my feet when my toes get cold. you’re sweet.

Love,
me.
Ginger and Lentil Soup

serves 8

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 large onion, chopped small

3 to 6 cloves garlic, minced

3 to 4 tablespoons ginger, grated or finely diced

3  cups water

3 to 4 carrots, sliced

1 pound French lentils

6 cups vegetable or chicken broth

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or to taste)

salt and pepper to taste

grated parmesan cheese for serving

cooked quinoa for serving

Take some time to sift through the lentils.  Do it.  Sometimes you find little rocks and pebbles.  Bad news bears. After picking through the lentils, place in a colander and rinse with cool water.  Set aside.

Chop onions, garlic and grate ginger and chop carrots.

Place a large pot over medium heat.  Add oil.  When oil is hot, add onions.  Cook until transparent and slightly browned.  Add garlic, ginger and carrots and and cook, while stirring, for 1 minute.  Add cumin and cayenne pepper and cook for 30 seconds.

Add the water to the hot pot and scrape the browned bits off the bottom of the pot as the liquid sizzles.  Add lentils and broth and simmer for about 45 minutes, until lentils have softened.  Taste and season with salt and pepper.

Serve with grated cheese and/or quinoa.

Soup will last, in an airtight container in the fridge, for about a week.  Soup is also great to keep in the freezer. Source: adapter from Joy the Baker, adapted from Essential New York Time CookbookListening to: “Never Going Back Again,” Fleetwood Mac

Leave a Reply

