Single Lady Melty Chocolate Cake.

I really should be in bed right now. Well, technically I am, but I should be asleep. Not thinking about what I had for dinner or how lucky I was that my three-hour night class wasn’t boring. I shouldn’t be thinking about what I should wear tomorrow or what my day is going to look like. And I definitely shouldn’t be thinking about this rich, decadent cake that I experienced earlier.
Picture

Except I totally l am. All of it. And then some.This recipe, ladies and gents, was the first beauty to be baked out of my new Joy the Baker cookbook! Yes, the lovely food blogger has a cookbook-you should totally check it out! It’s filled with delicious looking recipes that I am anxious to try.

Back to this cake. If you have a craving for rich, perfectly chocolaty hot pudding, make this cake. If you just need a quick I’m-freaking-out-cause-I’m-having-man-troubles-and-I-need-chocolate-now fix, make this cake (I’m totally not having man troubles, but if I was, this cake would be my best friend).

                      Mise en place.                                             New beautiful book, atop owl book holder.                         A broke lady’s double boiler.
                     Melt chocolate & butter.                                         Whisk egg & sugar.                                                      Pour into ramekin.If you are a person who likes to live life (and I know we ALL like to live life, am I right?) , just do this. Because it’s great. And wonderful. And [enter positive descriptive adjective here].

Makes one small cake (serves one).

1 Tbsp. unsalted butter
1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 large egg
4 tsp. granulated sugar
pinch of salt
1 tsp. all-purpose flour

Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat over to 375 degrees F. Place a cookie sheet in the oven as the oven heats. Generously butter and flour a 3/4-1 cup ramekin. Set aside.
In a small pot, bring 2 inches of water to a simmer. Place butter and chocolate in a heatproof bowl and place over, but not touching, the simmering water. Stir until chocolate has melted. Allow to cool slightly.
In a small bowl, whisk together egg and sugar. Pour in the melted chocolate mixture, and whisk together until will incorporated. Add the salt and flour and stir until just combined.
Pour batter into prepared ramekin and place in the over atop the cookie sheet. Bake for 7 to 11 minutes. The less time in the oven, the more gooey the cake will be.
*I baked mine for about 10 minutes, and it was still a bit runny. It will also depend on the oven you are using. You know how your oven cooks better than anyone, so adjust accordingly. 🙂
Remove from the oven. Allow to cool for 2 minutes. Using pot holders, carefully invert cake onto a place and dig in. Cake will be gooey and melty and slightly underdone. Yum.
This cake is intended for immediate consumption.

Source: Joy the Baker Cookbook
Watching: “Pushing Daisies; Episode 1: Pie-lette”

Leave a Reply

