Coming to terms, Growing up, Inspiration, & Bacon.

Every once in a while, I have distinct growing up moments which catch me off guard completely. Those moments are when I realize just how thoroughly I enjoy flossing me teeth every night. How the music in some stores (cough cough, Forever 21 & Old Navy) can be so irritating it makes me want to kick someone. And when I realize I enjoy a good dinner, glass of wine, and a quieter Saturday night.Another thing that makes me feel weird and old? Buying jean shorts. Ew. Gross. And slightly mortifying.It turns out that all of the clothing stores I frequent have decided to only make jean shorts for junior high girls who prefer their shorts to be almost nonexist, and grandmothers. There is no inbetween. Maybe they expected all the in between ages to move to Alaska where they only wear parkas this year, but nevertheless, it was a conundrum. A debacle.

I left the store in a state, and decided to listen to the most recent Joy the Baker podcast, where she incidentally talks about the horrors of jean shorts. I knew I wasn’t alone . . .

Other news? I have been in the midst of finals- crazy brain in over load! Losing sleep over studying, final projects, working full time, and all the joys of life that pull me away from writing. But I have come to realize that when pulled away from writing, I love it and miss it all the more.

“Absence makes the heart grow fonder.”

Truer words were never spoken.

When I do get a quick 10 minute break at work, I try my best to catch up on some of my favorite blogs,  and I have been inspired by some of the wonderful women in the blogosphere. Not only by them, but I have also come to recognize where I pull my inspiration. Because we all don’t simply copy recipes word for word (or ingredient by ingredient, rather), or else no new recipes are ever born. And  sometimes the preciseness and unwillingness to change can pull the creativity right out of a creation, and that’s no good for anyone.

So where do I pull my inspiration? From so many places, and the exhaustive list of resources seem to be ever-growing . . .
(top left, clockwise)-Roasted bulb of garlic, kale, & lime. In the spring, this just seem to go well with lime. Especially if there is a sprinkle of sea salt involved. And no, this is not my subtle hint that I need a shot of tequila.
-Lemon sorbet milkshake topped with whipped cream and bran flakes. Supposed to be topped with cookie crumbs, but bran flakes were the only carb I had in my house. So . . . ya. Resourcefulness is key.
-Chicken soup, over a handful of chiffonade spinach and cooked quinoa. I made this soup on a day I was feeling particularly lousy, and it just turned my day around! It wrapped it’s arms (soupy arms?) around my tummy and made it better.
-Basted eggs atop multigrain sourdough, extra sharp cheddar cheese, and tomato slices. Oh, and the b-e-a-utiful flowers? They are from a very handsome man. 😉
-Cinnamon truffles, with a touch of ginger, some with roasted, crushed pecans. I was inspired by the characters in “Once Upon a Time,” who love cinnamon in their hot chocolate. If you have never seen the show, you should. It’s wonderfully addicting and engaging. Eat a truffle (or two) while you watch. 100 % better.
-This salad was inspired by the future of my garden! Cucumbers, avocado, shredded chicken (I’m not growing chickens, just for the record) on spinach with some roasted garlic cloves smashed onto a couple baguette slices seemed to be the perfect thing to welcome new growth out of the dirt.And today? A lie-in. Reading. Pastry with a friend. Garage sales. Graduations. More short-shopping (success this round!) Grocery shopping. Garden weeding. After that day, a fresh pasta was in order (along with some red wine, which is a give in).

Sticky bun & apricot croissant, for the win.My dinner was pasta tossed with half an avocado, cut into cubes, some sharp cheddar, a few pieces of bacon, and a fried egg on top. It was a beautiful collision of tastes I wanted, and just happen to be what I had on hand.Resourcefulness. Figuring out what you crave. The tastes that make you close your eyes and smile. The desire to transport yourself through tastes. Wanting to create moments with people, and figuring out what food goes in the middle of the table at that moment. What facilitates the laughter and drives the conversation. What satisfies. The beauty of something done right and excellent. The hidden aspects that are only brought together when pair with an opposite. The picture that you have in your mind when all is working beautifully together. The color schemes that make your mouth water, and figuring out the tastes that go with those colors. Knowing people, and what makes them happy.

These are a few things that inspire me. What inspires you? I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

