Pulled Pork Sliders.

So, I have this secret wish that I could take pictures with my eyeballs. Or, at least have a pair of contacts that could take pictures, edit them to perfection with just a thought, and have them sent & organized on my computer, all in one swift move. I also wish that the thoughts I have during baking & cooking could be recorded, because inevitably, I lose at least 57% of cleverness & wit when I have to postpone & write after I’m done baking/cooking. Oh, also! While we are in this land, I want to wiggle my nose, cross my arms, & blink (that’s how they do it, right?) and my post to be uploaded. I want my website redesigned. I want my traffic to increase. I want people to be able to find my recipes effortlessly. I want my job to be recipe developing & writing. Now, really, is that too much to ask? ;)I know, all those things take either time & skill, a lot of patience, or another person workin’ for ya. Well, we’ll see. Right now I’m just happy to be here with you folks.
Picture

Oh, ya, this is where I’ve been spending most of my time the past month. This pic was taken the week before opening. If you walked in today, the cases would be filled with pastries, the menu would actually be hanging on the wall properly, & I would be there ready to make you a scraped americano. Because, you know, we’re friends.
Last week, while doing my weekly big grocery shop, I found a giant hunk of meat. No, not a dude. Literally, a 14lb. bone-in pork shoulder (please read that & try to keep your mind clean. Good luck).Not really sure what I was doing, I bought the thing, knowing full well that I do not own a roasting pan, it is way too big for the slow cooker, & the largest piece of oven equipment I own is a giant cookie sheet. So I went home and googled “what the heck do you do with a bone-in pork shoulder?!” After a bit of searching Tyler Florence (or T-Flo, for you JTB & Shutts listeners) gave me some inspiration to make my own dry rub for the meat.
Picture

Paprika that I brought back from Hungary, dry mustard, garlic powder, sea salt, & a healthy bit of brown sugar make magic.
Picture

Wrapped up with a hefty amount of aluminum foil, oven ready.
Picture

Make-as-you-go pulled pork sliders. Grab a baguette & whatever the heck you want! I was in the mood for sauteed onions with garlic, sauteed & fresh green peppers, sharp cheddar, & cilantro. Really, at this point, the possibilities as endless!What sort of slider mood are you in?Pulled Pork Roast, Shoulder 

5 tablespoons paprika
3-4 tablespoon garlic powder
5 tablespoon brown sugar
3 tablespoon dry mustard
4-5 tablespoons sea salt
14 lb. pork roast, preferably shoulder or Boston butt
*The amount of rub used will change according to the size of your piece of meat

Mix the paprika, garlic power, brown sugar, dry mustard, and salt together in a small bowl. Rub the spice blend all over the pork, including crevices. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour, or up to overnight.

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Put the pork in a roasting pan (*this is the proper procedure! I didn’t have this equipment, but if you have it, use it!) and roast it for about 6 hours. An instant-read thermometer stuck into the thickest part of the pork should register 170 degrees F, but basically, what you want to do is to roast it until it’s falling apart.

Let the meat rest for an hour, allowing it to cool a bit so you can “pull” the meat. While the pork is still warm, grab two forks. Using one to steady the meat, use the other to “pull” shreds of the meat. At some points, it might be easier to use your fingers.

I set aside what we were going to have for dinner that night, and portioned out the rest of the meat to freeze. Having portioned pulled pork for sandwiches, pasta, pizza, rice bowl, or whatever, comes in so handy! Especially after long days. Comfort food at its finest, my friends.

Source: adapted from Food Network
Listening to: dialogue from Julie & Julia

Leave a Reply

