Blueberry Lavender Honey Scones.

Picture

Currently? Sitting in the sunshine, braving the winds whipping my scarf, blouse, & hair about, threatening to remove them in one swift current.Sir Weather, I know the sun is warm, and my skin is pale, but there is no need to disrobe me. I’m perfectly happy the way I left the house this morning, thank you very much.

I can’t really help but sit in the sun, even if it is barely touching the 50 F mark. It’s a Saturday off (what what & hella holla!) & I am soaking as much as I can out of this day! Upon waking there were cuddles, a work out (humble brag-woaa woaa), breakfast & the Word, tilling & turning the garden & compost, and I really wanted to write you people. I figured I should bake something first though. Coming before you empty handed is rarely acceptable. And with the sun above & the promise of spring in these whipping winds, my brain turned to scones. Delicate scones. The kind fit for a queen, or a girl on a day off. The kind of scones that can delicately shout petite things, giving on an innocent but grown up vibe. You’re dang right these scones have vibes.

The lavender in my cupboard was whispering, & the blueberries were responding. Once I realized they were calling to each other, my match-making spirit set into motion. They would be divine together. But just to make certain they were stuck together for good (you know, that whole ” . . . what God has joined together, let no man separate” thing), I drizzled the tops with honey, for a sweetness & sticky conviction that would be an example to others what can happen when two good things come together & vow not to separate. Now, I do realize that God did not join blueberries and lavender together, and I do realize this particular passage is talking about marriage. But in the spirit of getting swept up in a love story about these two components, allow me this creative freedom, eh? Thanks friends. I appreciate that you bear my ridiculousness sometimes/ all of the time.
Grated, cold butter & a gently patted out dough, studded with juicy fruit
(not the gum-that’s weird).
Can I go back a bit & share a bit of my heart? Cool thanks.A few nights ago I was closing up the coffee shop, sweeping the space & thinking about nothing in particular. Whether it was a song playing or a moment I was recalling, I’m not sure, but I started thinking about how this generation, the 20 somethings & 30 somethings,  have lost any regard for the meaning of commitment to another person. Our parents, grandparents, & great-grandparents were somehow able to stay married to one another, despite hardships & differences. These days we don’t give someone a second glance unless they fit every requirement on our “perfect partner” list, and if somehow they disappoint us, let us down, or start to change into someone that we didn’t expect or can’t control, we label it as an “irreconcilable difference” and start the search for someone new, someone who we think will fill & complete us, someone who will make happy. It’s an unrelenting cycle.

Now, I am aware I have only been married for five months, & even though married life is incredible, it’s been rough sometimes! Communication between two completely different, fallen & finite individuals require patience & grace.  I am full aware that Matt & I are going to face hardships, struggles, dry spells, tough choices, & downright hard life together. But really? I love this guy so much.

How incredible would it be if this generation has a switch, and was all of a sudden known for their commitment to one another & their commitment to their marriage? My mind was reeling and getting stoked on starting a revival, one that influenced marriages across the country, simply by being vocal about our love for one another, our struggles, and being accountable to outside influences who could speak truth into our lives. As I’m loving the idea of getting swept up into something bigger, I felt God tell me quietly, “You both already are swept up into something bigger . . . you’re married.” Marriage: being a picture on earth of Christ & the church. Loving each other with a Christ love & serving each other. Marriage is so much bigger than us. 

Sigh. A mouth full & a heart full. I got even more stoked as I recounted my heart to Matt that evening. God is good, life is good, & sometimes my heart swells because of it.

Thanks for allowing me to share. Want to hear more about scones? Of course you do.

Picture

Imperfect small scones. There is a beauty in a scone that is almost as tall as it is wide.
Picture

Picture

Quaint & delicious.
Also, Matt made me that serving tray with his new tools. I’m reaping the benefits of his new toys.
Blueberry Lavender Honey Scones
makes 12 small scones3 cups all-purpose flour
2 Tbsp. granulated sugar
2 tsp. lavender buds
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup cold unsalted butter, grated
1 large egg, lightly beaten
3/4 cup cold buttermilk
1 cup fresh blueberries
3 tablespoons buttermilk for brushing the tops of the scones before baking
granulated sugar for sprinkling on top before baking
honey for drizzling on top before baking

Place a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or grease with butter and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, rub the granulated sugar & the lavender together with your fingertips. This helps the lavender release its fragrance & flavor. Add sifted flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Using your fingertips, rub the butter into the flour mixture until it resembles a coarse meal.  Work the butter into the dry ingredients until some of the butter flakes are the size of peas and some are the size of oat flakes.  In another bowl, combine egg, and milk and beat lightly with a fork.  Add to flour mixture all at once, stirring enough to make a soft dough.  Gently fold in the blueberries.

Turn out onto a floured board and knead about 15 times.  Roll or pat out into a 1-inch thickness.  Cut into 2-inch rounds using a round cutter or cut into 2×2-inch squares.  Reshape and roll dough to create more scones with excess scraps.    Place on an ungreased baking sheet.  Brush lightly with buttermilk, sprinkle with granulated sugar, & drizzle with honey. Bake for 14-18 minutes or until golden brown on top.  Serve warm.  Scones are best the day they’re made, and though they can be frozen and lightly reheated in the oven.

Source: adapted from Joy the Baker
Listening to: The Lone Bellow   (seriously addicted to these guys!)

Leave a Reply

