Breakfast Cookies.

So, I’ve been doing this thing lately. The health bit. Summer inspired, I suppose.Binge on kale juice? Sure.

Grow my greens and eat them like a mad (wo) man? I’ve done it.

Cut out gluten & dairy? For the time being, they’re outta here.

Sugar? Honey & maple syrup are my jam these days.

I call myself crazy as I do these things, but then I down some electric green juice, feel incredible, & gather determination to figure out how to transform favorites into delicious little darlings.

To be frank, I wanted feel good about myself. I feel like when I get up in the morning, I stumble to the bathroom and I don’t like what I see. So I paint on some sort of face to cover up the fact that my face is a little red, I’m kinda breaking out, my eyes are puffy and . . . ya. And taking off my make-up at night, I didn’t feel pretty. Or good about myself. Sheesh, I’m 25 years old! Insecurity should have gone out the door with high school, right? Or with the fact that I have an amazing husband who thinks I’m the bees knees, and I still don’t feel pretty? It’s crazy how much the enemy attacks us and tells us we aren’t good enough. I needed some healing from the inside out. Healing of the heart, and of the body. To consciously take better care of myself, rather than feel like I’m trying to play catch up and putting a bandaid on the real problem. So this is me, cutting down on make up and certain foods, as well as Pinterest (I deleted the app from my phone, for the time being) and whatever else could fuel the comparison, not-good-enough fire.

Please hear me, I’m not condemning butter, sugar, flour, Pinterest, whatever, nor am I condemning those who continue to bake like a normal person. I’m just removing them from my life for now. It’s the season I’m in, that is all. 🙂

I’ve had help; I’m not going pretend like I’ve struck out on my own in this adventure. I’ve been partially slash majorly addicted to Gwyneth Paltrow’s new cookbook, “It’s All Good.”

Picture

She communicates her intense foodie brain combined with the smarts of nutrition, plus her experience with food allergies & how to manage them. After making a few of her recipes for our dinners (I told you I was addicted didn’t I?), it amazing how delicious & satisfying they are! I was kind of thinking that I might spend my days eating like a rabbit and being perpetually hungry. I gave myself a week, maybe. However, I’m only halfway through the book and I’m hooked. Thanks, Gwyn (can I call you Gwyn?) Recipes that are creative without going crazy and having you buy every random thing in the grocer. Her meals are also flexible and so attainable. I don’t feel intimidated; I feel as if she is a friend drinking wine in my kitchen, showing me a different way of feeding my family without turning us into only lettuce-eating hippies.After my rant about my new love, this recipe is not from the book. I found the inspiration for this recipe on Eat, Live, Run (Jenna is such a cutie, & so talented!). But what I really wanted was to bite into a giant granola cookie thing. So with no flour & no sugar & needing to make something for my morning I’m-still-at-work-and-have-to-eat-while-I’m-busy-like-a-crazy-person, these were born.

No chocolate, but yes to craisins & coconut! And pistachios, forever, yes.

Picture

Remove the sugar, bump up the maple syrup count (I am Canadian, after all), & you’ve cut out processed sugar. I cut out the flour & replaced it with Bob’s Red Mill pizza crust mixture. It is a combination of potato starch, tapioca starch, xanthun gum, and a few other crazy things. Honestly? It’s not my favorite, but it’s what I had, and it worked out well! Weird fact: let the cookies cool completely. They taste way better! Crazy lil’ guys . . .
Picture

Add cinnamon. Always.
Well, almost always. Use your head.
Picture

Picture

Energy-filled & feel good. These are part of my new pick-me-up, feel good about myself inside out thing.

Breakfast Cookies
make 12 cookies
1 cup gf old fashioned oats
2/3 cup Bob’s Red Mill pizza crust mix (you can use any other gf flour you want; just make sure you add xanthun gum!)
1/4 cup ground flax
2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
3 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup craisins
1/2 cup pistachios
1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconutDirections:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a sheet tray with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix together the oats, flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. In another bowl, whisk together the applesauce, maple syrup, melted coconut oil and ground flax. Add to the dry ingredients — mixture might appear dry and that’s okay. Stir in the craisins, nuts, & coconut.

Form large golf ball sized balls of dough and flatten on your prepared baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes and then let cool for 10 minutes before transferring from the baking sheet.

Source: loosely adapted from Eat, Live, Run
Listening to/watching: An Education
Leave a Reply

