Zucchini Brownies (gf, dairy-free, & sugar-free)

Picture

Can I be honest about this? It’s just you an me and a brownie (well, two brownies . . . one for each . . . I’m not sharing a brownie, cause that’s ridiculous). Ok, I have this writer’s block thing. Maybe it’s more of an impatience thing. I sit down and I expect all the inner banter of the earlier part of the day to return to me. I told it to pause, and it just left. Jerk banter-never liked you anyway . . .I think style of inner monologue also is aided by listening to Tina Fey’s “Bossypants” on audiobook the first part of the day. Funny lady.

I wonder what other bloggers think the moment they sit down to write. Is it like every scene in “Julie & Julia,” you know, how she just gets up extra early every morning and the creativity just spills out on the keys and captures millions of readers? Or do they clear their mind . . . no music, no tv, no distractions, just the words that need to bubble up from within. Or do they over-stimulated themselves (please don’t go there with that-ok, you just did, twice), turning to whatever form of media or reading or conversation that will inspire them and create an acceptable piece of work? Sheesh guys . . . I don’t have a clue. I’m just trying to make it over here.

And when I say make it, I mean make it.

Picture

Like . . . getting taken out on mini golf dates by my great, husband of a best friend.
Like . . . grow vegetables and constantly be stunned at the fact that they are actually growing.
Drinking afternoon shakes and running 5k-5miles, feeling faster everytime. Don’t you just love when you know that you have to ability to do something? Practically speaking, I know I may not have to run like my life depended on it anytime soon, because the chances of a cheetah chase are rare in these parts, but knowing that my body can feels good. I don’t ever want to be a person who questions if they have the ability to run. I just want to know I can. It’s a fuzzy feeling.
ps- these are not the nast, processed, chalky things you get at the grocery store. I’ll be sharing some of my favorite juices & shake recipes soon!
Picture

These guy will be here Friday . . . FRIDAY!!!  I haven’t seen these wonderful parents since our wedding, and I’m so looking forward to squeezing them and catching up on the past year.
But right now, I bring you another sweet treat. Again, I’m on the gluten-free, sugar-free & vegan bandwagon for right now, so no butter & sugar just yet. But YOU GUYS!!! These are just so it right now.
Picture

Chewy but not fudgy, with deep, decadent cocoa minus the sugar hangover. These are actually qualified as good for you I told myself as I continued to reach for another. These are totally sharable and wonderful.Magic I tell you . . . magic.

Zucchini Brownies

1/2 cup all natural unsalted almond butter
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 medium grated apple (or 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 cup gf oats
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups shredded zucchini
1/2 cup pecans, crumbled to desired size

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 8×8 baking pan with nonstick cooking spray or line with parchment paper.

Place oats in blender or food processor and process until finely ground. Don’t worry, it doesn’t need to be perfect but it should take a couple minutes. I used a blade coffee grinder* and it worked well!
 *I purchased a grinder specifically for grinding flours, nuts, & seeds. If you use yours foe coffee, be sure to wipe out any oils or grounds. Or don’t! Who doesn’t love coffee brownies? 🙂 

In a large bowl of electric mixer, cream together peanut butter, applesauce, honey and vanilla until smooth. Add in zucchini, cocoa powder, ground oats, baking soda, and salt; mix until well combined. Gently fold in 1/4 cup of pecans. Pour batter into prepared baking pan and sprinkle remaining pecans over the top. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until tooth pick inserted into middle comes out almost clean.

Cool brownies completely on wire rack then cut into squares. Enjoy!

Souce: adapted from: Ambitious Kitchen
Listening to: Bossypants, by Tina Fey

Leave a Reply

