Sweet Potato & Avocado Bowl.

Picture

I don’t know about you, but every time I write out the date, I still hesitate a bit. 2014. I know, we are only 16 days in, but how did it get here so quickly? Personally, I welcome it with open arms. Not to say that was 2013 was rubbish; on the contrary! 2013 was so great! We celebrated our 1- year wedding anniversary, we opened a coffee shop, we learned how to be married, we moved from our first apartment into community living, we visited my family in Missouri, we worked ourselves to the bone, then we took an intentional step back to simply be with each other.All that to say, I love the start of a new year. It feels so fresh & full of possibility, and you have no excuses to put off things that need to get done, things that need to be gotten rid of, & you have an all over excuse for a clean slate, in every sense of the word.

We returned from Missouri not even a week ago, & already I had been aching to get back and finish the last of our unpacking. We had moved from our lil apartment at the beginning of December into a large house with a few other single friends. Community living again! Matt & I had both done community living as singletons, so being married in community is such a different ride! I’m enjoying it so far though. It feel even better having organized my cupboard (as opposed to lots of random things in different plastic grocery bags just stuck on a shelf), found places for my scarves & hats (not a pile in front of the closet) & just doing an over all cleaning & purging (we had left things in a bit of a state). I can breathe a bit deeper now!

Also, this is the view we had to come back to. Um, hello January. You are unusually sunny & warm, & I am not complaining.

Picture

In addition to cleaning & purging, the remainder of the holidays are in my system. My actual, literal body is feeling a bit dragged down (because I ate my weight in cookies & pie & cheesecake  . . . because it’s delicious). However, I have started a wee detox as of today. I would usually classify myself as a fairly clean eater with a sweet tooth, but for the next 12 days, I will be one of “those” guys. The “I-can’t-eat-that-I’m-detoxing-so-there” type of people. It’s not so bad though. I’m only 2/3 of a day though, & I’ve already made this amazing lunch. So, I’m not as intense as maybe you would like to think I am. Sorry to disappoint.The detox I am doing is called a Wild Rose Herbal Detox, made by Garden of Life. You can find out more information on this detox & this company here.

Let’s lunch.

Picture

My roommate just got this handy-dandy tool, & she let’s me borrow because she’s a doll. It turns basically anything you want to be a noodle into a noodle. Not even lying.
Picture

Sweet potato noodle? Ain’t no big thang; we can manage that.
Picture

Um, gorgeous & amazing. My world has just opened to a myriad of possibilities . . .  sweet browns, sweet potato shoestring fries, etc . . .
Picture

I diced onion & garlic, and sauteed them in coconut oil until they were softened & browned a bit. I added the sweet potato noodles to the pan, stirred, & cooked them down a bit (approximately 5 minutes).While the noodles were cooking, I chopped a large handful of spinach & sliced an avocado into cubes. Spinach -> bowl. Sauteed sweet potato -> spinach. Diced avocado -> sweet potato. Dusted with sea salt, freshly cracked pepper, & chipotle powder, it was full of flavor & spice. Let face it-this is probably going to be a repeat on this detox. Because, well, for obvious reasons.

Picture

Sweet Potato & Avocado Bowl
makes one serving2 Tbsp. coconut oil
3 cloves garlic
1/2 medium yellow onion
1 small/medium sweet potato
1 large handful spinach
1/2 avocado
sea salt, to taste
freshly cracked pepper (to taste)
chipotle powder (couple pinches, to taste)

Over medium heat in a small/ medium skillet, heat 1 Tbsp. coconut oil. Dice your 1/2 onion & add to the pan. Do not let the onion brown too much; we just want it to start softening & developing flavor. Bruise & mince your garlic; add to the onions. Let cook 5-6 minutes, stirring occasionally.

If you have a spiralizer, spiralize your sweet potato! If you don’t have one, you could also use a julienne peeler (your noodles will be thicker, so allow for a longer cooking time). If you don’t have either, you can most certainly use a vegetable peeler (again, your noodles will be thicker, so allow for a longer cook time).  Add your sweet potatoes to the pan. A few minutes into cooking, add a couple Tablespoons of water to aid in the cooking process. Season a wee bit with sea salt, pepper, & chipotle powder.

While the sweet potatoes are cooking, roughly chop your spinach and add to your bowl. Once your noodles are done cooking, add them directly on top on your spinach. Add the avocado to the bowl, then top with sea salt, pepper, & a small dusting of chipotle. Enjoy. It’s dang good!

Leave a Reply

