Caramel, Peanut Butter, & Chocolate Chip Cookies.

This may seem like I have gone over board. Too much, you say? I was inspired, and one does not mess with inspiration, no matter where it comes from.

Picture

Even if that inspiration comes from, say, a current favorite television series, “How I Met Your Mother.” I haven’t been a follower from the beginning, but have been a recent binge watcher while I crochet & edit photos. So now I am caught up, have met “The Mother,” & am excited to see just how her and Ted are united.Side note: I never thought I would tear up as much as I do in this show. Who can hold it together when a real-life, relatable crisis is affecting someone you’ve come to know? Maybe I’m a mushball . . . that’s probably it.

Speaking of “The Mother,” played by Cristin Milioti, she’s adorable. Seriously, maybe I have a new lady-crush (that’s a real thing). I mean, how could you not?

For those of you who watch the show, one of the first time we meet this lovely, she is on the train with Lily, and she offers her a cookie because Lily seems sad. What? Offer food to people to cheer them up and make friends? I’ve never done that before . . . AKA, story of my life. What cookies does she offer her, you ask? Some b*tches. Yes, caramel, peanut butter, & chocolate chip cookies she has lovely dubbed “some b*tches.” So, duh, I had to try making them, or else I would have that scene running around in my dreams, & I would wake up wanting cookies for breakfast. It wouldn’t be the first time, let’s be real.
Picture

Picture

I wanted the caramel to deliver a rich, on-the-verge-of-burnt-but-really-just-browned-to-perfection flavor, so I opted to believe that these cookies have caramel throughout rather than being studded with caramel. Studded with chocolate, yes. Studded with a crushed peanut here and there, sure. But caramel throughout is a must for complex flavor.
Picture

Can you just look at this with me? Can I share these with you and become friends?
Caramel throughout, with a caramel glaze that provides a ridiculous amount of depth without becoming overwhelming. Crazy good.
Picture

I just booked my flight for a wee vacation to San Francisco mid-April, and I am so excited! I’ll be meeting up with a couple friends that I lived with in Scotland, one of whom is on a house concert tour. Yes, she is that cool! I’ll be joining her on her nine day trek from Modesto, CA and road tripping up to Squamish. Adventures to be had? Oh gosh yes. Downside? Matt will be staying in Squamish holding down the fort. Boo. It will be our first trip apart from each other, which is one aspect I’m not looking forward to! Pitiful, you say? No, we just like each other. That’s all.  Traveling alone to CA means that I’ll need to make friends, which means that I’m going to make a batch (possibly a double batch) of these cookies to share on the plane, train, & automobiles I will traveling in. Because these are friend-making cookies.The anatomy of a caramel drip.

Make cookies. Make friends. Be awesome. It will be legendary.

Caramel, Peanut Butter, & Chocolate Chip Cookies (AKA “Some B*tches”)
for the caramel in the cookie: 
3/4 c. granulated sugar
2/3 c. hot water
2 Tbsp. butter
for the cookies:
1 c. butter, softened
1 c. peanut butter (I used chunky, but you can use smooth! Whatever you have on hand)
1 c. brown sugar, packed
1/4 c. granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. baking powder
2/3 tsp. sea salt
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
2 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. dark (60-70%) chocolate chips
for the caramel glaze:
1/4 c. granulated sugar
2-4 Tbsp. hot water
1 Tbsp. butter
Over medium/high heat, in a small skillet or sauce pan, melt the 3/4 cup sugar for the caramel sauce. There is no need to stir it (or else the sugar might seize!), but keep an eye on it, swirling it every once in a while. Once it achieves a deep amber color, turn off the heat and slowly pour in the hot water. Be careful, it will spatter! Stir the water in, then add the 2 Tbsp butter and keep stirring. Once the butter has melted, move the caramel to a bowl or another heat proof dish (I just moved mine back into the liquid pyrex measuring cup. Less dirty dishes!).
While that is cooling, start the cookies. In a stand mixer with a paddle attachment, cream the 1 cup butter with the brown sugar and the 1/4 cup granulated sugar for 3 minutes, then add the peanut butter. Cream for another 5 minutes, or until light and fluffy. By this time the caramel should be slightly cooled, so slowly pour it into the bowl with the butter/sugar mixture. Stir to combine.
Add the eggs, one at a time, beating for 1 minute after each. Add vanilla.
In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and sea salt. Add this to the wet mixture, stirring carefully as to not spray flour all over (this happens).
Once combined add the chocolate chips, stirring on low.
Chill the dough in the fridge for a half hour.
Preheat oven to 375F. Place parchment paper on a cookie sheet, and drop the cookie dough by rounded heaping tablespoons into your hands, form into a ball, and place on the cookie sheet, 1 1/2-2 inches apart from each other. Bake for 8-10 minutes. (Don’t over bake! They will become too crispy and lose their delightful chew).
While they are baking, repeat the caramel making process with the glaze ingredients. Melt the 1/4 cup sugar to a deep amber color, add the hot water, then the butter, stir, then let cool.
Once the cookies are done, remove from the oven. Let cool for a couple minutes on the sheet, then move to a cooling rack. With a pastry brush (or a teaspoon), pour and spread the caramel over the cookies as they cool. These are amazing warm, amazing cooled, and will help you make friends. Store in an airtight container for up to 5 days.
Inspiration: “How I Met Your Mother”
Listening to: Cristin Milioti’s cover of JT’s “Mirrors” (which is beyond incredible)
Leave a Reply

