Banana Bread with Pepitas & Craisins {gf, dairy-free, sugar-free}

paleo banana bread with pepitas

This past week, spring has shown up in a big way! Nature got its cue that it is indeed March, and it is time for birds to be chirping in the morning, bees to emerge from hiding and start buzzing & gathering, and, thanks to daylight savings time & the chance to spring forward, it is lighter so much later! It’s also the days of debating whether you need a coat to go outside rather than it being a must, and opening your windows to let the fresh air into the dusty corners of your home. On the not-so-upside, a season change sometimes can mean sickness & a cold, and we’ve been dealing with that in full swing over here in the Davies’ household! Actually, all of Squamish is pretty much ill right now. Not cool. Saturday morning I woke up to find that my voice had indeed gotten up and left me, and left me in a raspy, deep man whisper that, to the untrained ear, would leave people thinking I was an 80-year old smoker man. The past two days it has crept into my sinuses, making my lose my weight into my handkerchief. But today, thanks to nighttime cold meds, lavender essential oil, & countless ginger turmeric honey bombs, we are on the mend! paleo banana bread with pepitas & craisins, sliced

In the spirit of trying to take care of my family and our health, I am trying to incorporate more veg into out diet, less sugar {and things that get changed into sugar in our bodies}, drinking enough water, get enough fresh air, and just trying to live well. I know, if you are a seasoned reader, you know that I go through seasons of this: seasons when i want you to make cookies & fudge & chocolate this & cake that & so on and so forth. I think that’s ok too! We go through seasons over here, and right now, I’m going to up our health. And that’s that. We are checking ourself before we wreck ourselves.

A smattering of protein-rich almond meal, brown rice flour, and decadent spices are our game.

 

almond meal, brown rice flour, & spices

Did you guys know that pepitas are just pumpkin seeds? Of course you knew that. Did you they are freaking amazing when toasted?! I bet you knew that too. Y’all are on top of your game. We’re not going to toast them before we bake them; they will toasted as they bake on top of the bread. They just look so pretty on that parchment paper . . .

 

pepitas / pumpkin seeds

paleo banana bread with pepitas, unbakedWith all this going on, you don’t even realize that butter & sugar haven’t shown up.

paleo banana bread with pepitas and craisinsBananas & honey are partnered together to make this bread subtle & sweet without being a headache or an afternoon nap. The almond meal gives the bread an amazing texture that isn’t mealy, but results in a moist, light crumb that you will surely be swiping from around your plate. After all, you’re probably a messy eater, and you definitely won’t want to let any of this go to waste.

No fear- I won’t reveal your messy eater secret. Confession: I’m a messy eater as well. When I was little, I had people tell me that I was the only person they knew that could get a single cookie all the way around her mouth. While I may have cleaned myself up a bit since then {give me some credit, I am a lady}, I’m still a hot mess on occasion.

paleo banana bread with pepitas

IMG_4337

 

It’s delicious. It’s health. It’s your new favorite {most likely, let’s be real}.

Banana Bread with Pepitas & Craisins {gf, dairy-free, sugar-free}

makes one 9×5 loaf

1½ cups brown rice flour

1 cup almond meal**

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon sea salt

1½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon cinnamon

¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg

2 eggs, beaten

5 ripe bananas, mashed*

1/2 medium-sized apple, peeled & grated*

⅓ cup honey

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ cup melted coconut oil

1/3 cup pepitas {pumpkin seeds}

1/3 cup craisins

*The original recipe called for 6 bananas, which amounts to about 2 cups {3 medium ripe bananas=1cup}. I only had 5 bananas, so I subbed the 1/2 apple, which worked well for me! You can use 6 bananas if you prefer.

     **Almond meal can be so expensive, I know! I made my own my blitzing it in a high-speed blender. You could also substitute an extra cup of brown rice flour or another gluten-free flour, like buckwheat or spelt. Go nuts! 🙂

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare bread pan with non-stick spray.
Whisk rice flour, almond meal, baking soda, sea salt, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and together.
In separate bowl, mix the eggs, mashed bananas, grated apple, honey, vanilla, and melted coconut oil. Add banana mixture to dry mix. Gently fold in craisins & half of the pepitas {save the other half for the topping!}. Pour batter into your bread pan & sprinkle remaining pepitas.
Bake for 60-75 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool for 30 minutes in bread pan, then cool completely on a cooling rack. Be gentle, especially when it is warm! It is soft and breakable. Keeps for 5 days in an airtight container.
Source: heavily adapted from Confessions of a Gluten Free Mom
Listening to: Her Space Holiday

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. This is so beautiful, and looks delicious! Such a wonderful mix of flavors and ingredients. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

