Chocolate Pudding (gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, vegan)

Chocolate Pudding {gf, dairy-free, sugar-free, vegan} by cheeky baker

Happy first day of summer, y’all! Technically it’s the second day of summer, because I brought in the first day lying out in the sunshine on a blanket, reading through cookbooks and travel guides. Travel guides, you may ask? Drum roll please . . . Matt & I have booked our flights to Europe! We are leaving mid-August, flying into Glasgow, and starting our three-month traepse. Couple weeks in the UK, then heading to Paris, where our journey will start with a couple train passes and a good dose of energy and adventure. I can’t even begin to tell you how excited we are to start this adventure! We are currently in the planning stages, listing and organizing all the places we want to see, and really, all the food we want to make sure we eat. Last night as we were planning, Matt told me one of the things he really didn’t want to skimp on was the food {have I told you how much I love this man?}. Yes, we are going to be doing lots of grabbing a few items from the grocer and munching in the park, but we wanted to make sure we budgeted for all the traditional cuisine from each country. Croissants, bread, cheese, & wine in Paris. Pasta, pizza, & perfect olive oil in Italy. Fries in Belgium. I’m just . . . so excited.

Chocolate Pudding {gf, dairy-free, sugar-free, vegan} by cheeky baker

In this midst of summer, being in two weddings (one down, one to go!), and getting ready for this trip, I have been doing the 21 day sugar detox. It’s kinda like the Whole 30 thing that has been sweeping Instagram, but it’s a bit more strict. No grains, no dairy, no sugar, no sweeteners (like honey or maple syrup), and only green apples and green-tipped bananas for fruit. Yes, it’s a bit crazy. But yes, it’s challenged me to reevaluate what I grab and put into my mouth just because I can! I will post more a bit more on that a bit later, but right now I want to tell you about my probable new go-to when I am having chocolate cravings. Which, as of yesterday, was the kind of craving that took over my rational self and made me angry at myself for doing the sugar detox, angry at the author of the detox book, and I swear if I heard one more person say the word “paleo” I was going to either a) kick them in the shins, or b) punch them in the throat. So this pudding saved me and my friends. You’re welcome.

Chocolate Pudding {gf, dairy-free, sugar-free, vegan} by cheeky baker

Chocolate Pudding {gf, dairy-free, sugar-free, vegan} by cheeky baker

But can I tell you guys a secret? I messed up. I blended the crap out of the avocado, banana, coconut milk, and cocoa, had a bite, and cringed. Not a fan. It tasted like cocoa guacamole. I wasn’t about to waste a beautifully ripe avocado AND not enjoy chocolate pudding. So I added a Tablespoon of maple syrup and don’t even feel bad about it. Chalk it up to being human. Also, it was delicious and I’m completely not sorry.

This is the part where grace comes in. You have grace with me for being human and wanted to enjoy some dang pudding, and I’ll have grace with you, as a fellow human who is also just trying to make it in this world.

Pudding, friend?

Chocolate Pudding {gf, dairy-free, sugar-free, vegan} by cheeky baker

Chocolate Pudding {gf, dairy-free, sugar-free, vegan}

makes: 2 servings

1 avocado

1 medium-large green-tipped banana

1/4 cup full-fat coconut, almond, or other non-dairy milk

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 Tbsp. maple syrup*

pinch of sea salt

     *OPTIONAL! I just needed it. : )

Halve the avocado and remove the pit. Scoop out the flesh into a small food processor along with the banana, milk, cocoa, and vanilla. Add the salt, and blend until completely smooth, scraping down the sides as needed.

Serve in individual bowls and garnish with a bit of mint.

Source: adapted from 21 Day Sugar Detox

Listening to: Rogue Valley

Leave a Reply

