Zucchini & Spinach Pancakes {gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, paleo, 21 dsd friendly}

Zucchini Pancakes {gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, paleo, 21 dsd friendly}

I don’t know if you can tell form this lighting, but when I woke up this particular morning, it was raining fiercely and had no intention of letting up anytime soon. Even though it was still officially spring, the temperature had dropped and I slipped on my leg warmers. I wanted nothing more than to have my coffee mug glued to my hand and for it to have the ability to fill itself all day long. I think I may have to ask Harry Potter about that last one . . .  Also, I wanted pancakes. Warm, savory, perfect pancakes.

Gather your coconut flour & your greens . . . I used a hefty amount of spinach and cilantro in addition to my zucchini.

Zucchini Pancakes {gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, paleo, 21 dsd friendly} by cheeky baker

 

 

Zucchini Pancakes {gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, paleo, 21 dsd friendly}

Above you seen my messy, un-Pinterest-able kitchen. Is it a word? Give it time . . . it’ll catch on.

Mixed up, ready and waiting.

Zucchini Pancakes {gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, paleo, 21 dsd friendly}

 

Truth be told, I’m not the hugest fan of pancakes. I think I am a bigger fan of the idea of pancakes then actually pancakes themselves. It’s because I am a bigger fan of a savory breakfast than a sweet one. I associate pancakes with a sugar -rush, so they are perfectly fine for dinner alongside some eggs and bacon! But just pancakes for breakfast? I can’t do it. I wish I could-I watch others thoroughly enjoy them, but I am actually just watching them, wondering how they are going to feel in an hour. So this is my solution for that sugar rush and savory craving. There are other variations of this type of pancake; zucchini carrot, latke (potato onion), etc. You get the idea.

Zucchini Pancakes {gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, paleo, 21 dsd friendly}Zucchini Pancakes {gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, paleo, 21 dsd friendly}

Matt and enjoyed these pancakes with coffee & tea, salsa for me, just as they are for him. Happy breakfasting.

Zucchini & Spinach Pancakes {gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, paleo, 21 dsd friendly}

1 large zucchini, grated (approx. 2 1/2-3 cups)

2 large handfuls of spinach, washed & finely sliced (approximately 1- 1 1/2 cups)

1/4-1/3 cup chopped cilantro

3 eggs, beaten

1/2 tsp. granulated garlic

3 Tbsp. coconut flour

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1/2 tsp. (or a few hefty turns) ground black pepper

2-3 tsp. ghee, coconut oil, or bacon fat

salsa, for serving (optional)

Place the zucchini in the center of a large piece of cheesecloth, then bundle up the fabric around the vegetable, twist, and squeeze out any excess water.

In aa large mixing bowl, combine the eggs, granulated garlic, salt, and pepper; sift in the coconut flour and mix well. Stir in the zucchini, spinach, and cilantro.

In a large skillet, heat a teaspoon of the coconut oil over medium low heat. Using a 1/4 cup measure, place the vegetable mixture into the hot skillet and cook for 3-4 minutes. Gently flip the pancakes and cook for 3-4 minutes on the other side (I’ve found that before I flip my pancake, I pick up the skillet and shake it a little bit, just to loosen up the pancake and get it ready for flipping. If I don’t do this, I’m known as the world’s worst flipper.). Repeat with the remaining vegetable mixture.

Keep pancakes warm, and serve with salsa & love. Can’t forget the love . . .

Listening to: Imogen Heap

Leave a Reply

